I’ve Had the Time of My Life

Happy 2011 – we have officially made it through a whole year on this blog together and we are still going strong! It has been one heck of a life changing year complete with enough ups and downs to satisfy any soap opera watcher.

A year ago at this time I had just gone out and shown Third Level for the first time. A year ago I had never ridden my horse in a double bridle. A year ago I was terrified at the amount of time I had left to be able to pull of a season at FEI Juniors. A year ago I had just been accepted into my University and was still in high school.

I did have a blog malfunction when I was trying to be creative and give myself a new look a few months ago, but I managed to save most of my 2010 goals. I think it is time for a review of those:

2010 Goals –

1. Compete FEI Juniors with respectable scores – I would say that this one was successfully managed after ending qualifying season as third in the nation, gaining two bronze medals my debut at NAJYRC for Individual and Team tests, and coming in fourth my first time at the National Championship. I never thought it was possible but I guess this just shows what happens when you set your sights higher than logic tells you is possible! I am so proud of myself, my horse, and my amazing team!

2. Start Val in the double bridle – This was crossed off quite early but it preoccupied my mind at the start of the new year. It is such a pivotal thing and the moment that you really have entered the big time. And he took to it like a fish to water!

3. Score a 70% and at least one 9 – A nine at the first show out on a flying change and a 70% at the last show of the qualifying season let me cross both of these big goals off my list. Now I am hungry for more!

4. Organize a clinic – This one didn’t happen but not for lack of trying. Honestly though it isn’t a bad thing. This is definitely on my bucket list but I am in no hurry to fulfill it!

5. Start the 4 and 3-tempi’s – Cannot remember exactly when we started these but we are more in the schooling/almost-ready-to-show stage at this point. Even last year I was hoping to begin work on the PSG before the season ended but never in my wildest dreams did I imagine we would be as far along as we are now. There are days where we school movements from the Intermediare and Grand Prix tests. I am not claiming we could go out and show them tomorrow, not by a long shot. But wow!

6. Earn a working student position over the summer – This past summer the Boss took me on and it was one learning experience after another! I am so thankful, I learned so much, and I look forward to continuing to learn. To top it all off I earned a working student position for all of 2011 as well! I would say achieved and exceeded!

7. Get fit and active outside riding (and try not to complain too much about it) – This is something I know that I will just have to continue to pursue in my adult life. Which sucks. Haha

8. Figure out college! (I am still trying to figure it all out!) – I successfully completed a whole semester with above a 3.5 grade point average and loved every moment of it. Some how a higher power took care of me and put me in exactly the major I needed to be in to allow me to go after this working student position! It’s still a work in progress but I think everyone’s college life is a little bit like this. I am not quitting – in fact I get to keep my enrollment and get credit for work next year – but University is just not the priority right now. One thing is for sure; I will be finishing for a degree at some point in my life!

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

The biggest reflection I can add that I learned is never underestimate the power of putting something in writing. Goals are so important and I am amazed how far I have come from what I even imagined was possible!

2011 is going to be a super year and I leave for Maryland and Hassler Dressage on the sixth. Before I post a few goals I have already, they will be expanded on over the next week most likely, I would just like to announce that I have been chosen as the Rider of the Month for January on dressageforjuniors.com – exciting and humbling news!

Goals for 2011:

1. Get my final two PSG scores for my silver medal

2. Compete Young Riders and try for a place in Top 12 for Festival of Champions 2011 as well as NAJYRC

3. More 70%’s and 9’s on movements

4. Regularly ride “project horses” and horses that aren’t my own

5. Make new friends in Region 1 and all over the country and get to hang out with all of the new Junior/Young Rider friends from last year again!

3 Comments

Filed under Training

3 responses to “I’ve Had the Time of My Life

  1. Congratulations on achieving so many of your goals and making good progress towards others! I too have “get fit and active outside riding” on my list…it is a “two steps forward, one step back” thing for me. It’s hard to find the time! It sure is a good feeling though.

    Rider of the Month–how exciting! I will have to go and check it out :)

  2. ldbgcoleman

    The skys the limit Steph keep dreaming I can’t wait to see what this year will bring for you!

  3. ellie

    yay for rider of the month! oh and i have a project horse for you- shall i send her UPS?

Leave a Reply

